

# THE STATES assembled on Friday 18th November 2011, at 09.30 a.m. under the Presidency of the Bailiff, Michael Cameron St. John Birt Esquire.

\_\_\_\_\_

# His Excellency the Lieutenant Governor, General Sir John McColl, K.C.B., C.B.E., D.S.O. was present.

All members were present at roll call with the exception of –

Deputy John Alexander Nicholas Le Fondré of St. Lawrence – excused attendance (arrived in the Chamber at 11.55 a.m.)

Deputy Trevor Mark Pitman of St. Helier – en défaut (défaut raised at 9.48 a.m.)

Prayers

### **Minister for Economic Development**

In accordance with Standing Order 117, each candidate made a speech and was questioned prior to a ballot being held.

THE STATES, having proceeded to a secret ballot, were informed of the following results by the Bailiff –

Senator Alan John Henry Maclean 38 Deputy Michael Roderick Higgins of St. Helier 12

The Presiding Officer accordingly declared that Senator Alan John Henry Maclean had been duly elected as the Minister for Economic Development.

#### **Minister for Home Affairs**

Senator Bryan Ian Le Marquand was nominated by the Chief Minister designate. Deputy Judith Ann Martin of St. Helier was nominated by Senator Alan Breckon.

In accordance with Standing Order 117, each candidate made a speech and was questioned prior to a ballot being held.

THE STATES, having proceeded to a secret ballot, were informed of the following results by the Bailiff –

Senator Bryan Ian Le Marquand 28 Deputy Judith Ann Martin of St. Helier 22

771 Price code: A

STATES MINUTES 18th November 2011

The Presiding Officer accordingly declared that Senator Bryan Ian Le Marquand had been duly elected as the Minister for Home Affairs.

### **Minister for Planning and Environment**

Deputy Robert Charles Duhamel of St. Saviour was nominated by the Chief Minister designate. Deputy Edward James Noel of St. Lawrence was nominated by the Deputy of St. Martin.

In accordance with Standing Order 117, each candidate made a speech and was questioned prior to a ballot being held.

THE STATES, having proceeded to a secret ballot, were informed of the following results by the Bailiff –

Deputy Robert Charles Duhamel of St. Saviour	27
Deputy Edward James Noel of St. Lawrence	24

The Presiding Officer accordingly declared that Deputy Robert Charles Duhamel of St. Saviour had been duly elected as the Minister for Planning and Environment.

#### **Minister for Health and Social Services**

The Deputy of Trinity was nominated by the Chief Minister designate.

Deputy Geoffrey Peter Southern of St. Helier was nominated by Deputy Michael Roderick Higgins of St. Helier.

Senator Sarah Craig Ferguson was nominated by the Deputy of St. Ouen.

Senator Lyndon John Farnham was nominated by Senator Alan John Henry Maclean.

In accordance with Standing Order 117, each candidate made a speech and was questioned prior to a ballot being held.

THE STATES, having proceeded to a secret ballot, were informed of the following results by the Presiding Officer –

The Deputy of Trinity	22
Deputy Geoffrey Peter Southern of St. Helier	9
Senator Sarah Craig Ferguson	11
Senator Lyndon John Farnham	9

Deputy Geoffrey Peter Southern of St. Helier, in accordance with Standing Order 117(13), withdrew his candidacy and a second secret ballot was then held.

THE STATES, having proceeded to a secret ballot, were informed of the following results by the Presiding Officer –

The Deputy of Trinity	26
Senator Sarah Craig Ferguson	18
Senator Lyndon John Farnham	5

There were 2 spoilt papers.

STATES MINUTES 18th November 2011

The Presiding Officer accordingly declared that the Deputy of Trinity had been duly elected as the Minister for Health and Social Services.

## **Changes in Presidency**

The Bailiff retired from the Chamber during consideration of the appointment of the Minister for Health and Social Services and the meeting continued under the presidency of Mr. Michael Nelson de la Haye, Greffier of the States.

## Arrangement of public business for future meetings

THE STATES, adopting a proposition of Senator Paul Francis Routier, agreed to defer consideration of nominations for the Chairmen of the various Committees and Scrutiny Panels until its meeting of 22nd November 2011.

Members present voted as follows –

POUR: 48 CONTRE: 2 ABSTAIN: 0

Connétable of St. John

Deputy T.M. Pitman (H)

Senator P.F. Routier

Senator P.F.C. Ozouf

Senator A. Breckon

Senator S.C. Ferguson

Senator A.J.H. Maclean

Senator B.I. Le Marquand

Senator F. du H. Le Gresley

Senator I.J. Gorst

Senator L.J. Farnham

Senator P.M. Bailhache

Connétable of St. Helier

Connétable of Trinity

Connétable of Grouville

Connétable of St. Clement

Connétable of St. Peter

Connétable of St. Lawrence

Connétable of St. Mary

Connétable of St. Ouen

Connétable of St. Brelade

Connétable of St. Martin

Connétable of St. Saviour

Deputy R.C. Duhamel (S)

Deputy R.G. Le Hérissier (S)

Deputy J.A. Martin (H)

Deputy G.P. Southern (H)

Deputy of St. Ouen

Deputy of Grouville

Deputy J.A. Hilton (H)

Deputy J.A.N. Le Fondré (L)

**Deputy of Trinity** 

Deputy S.S.P.A. Power (B)

Deputy S. Pitman (H)

Deputy K.C. Lewis (S)

773

STATES MINUTES 18th November 2011

Deputy E.J. Noel (L)

Deputy T.A. Vallois (S)

Deputy M.R. Higgins (H)

Deputy A.K.F. Green (H)

Deputy J.M. Maçon (S)

Deputy G.C.L. Baudains (C)

Deputy of St. John

Deputy J.P.G. Baker (H)

Deputy J.H. Young (B)

Deputy S.J. Pinel (C)

Deputy of St. Mary

Deputy of St. Martin

Deputy R.G. Bryans (H)

Deputy of St. Peter

Deputy R.J. Rondel (H)

THE STATES, adopting a proposition of Senator Paul Francis Routier, agreed that it would convene on Thursday 24th November 2011 to consider nominations for the membership of the various Committees and Scrutiny Panels.

## **Minister for Transport and Technical Services**

The Connétable of St. Peter was nominated by the Chief Minister designate.

Deputy Kevin Charles Lewis of St. Saviour was nominated by the Connétable of St. Lawrence.

In accordance with Standing Order 117, each candidate made a speech and was questioned prior to a ballot being held.

THE STATES, having proceeded to a secret ballot, were informed of the following results by the Bailiff –

The Connétable of St. Peter 23 Deputy Kevin Charles Lewis of St. Saviour 25

The Bailiff accordingly declared that Deputy Kevin Charles Lewis of St. Saviour had been duly elected as the Minister for Transport and Technical Services.

### **Changes in Presidency**

Mr. Michael Nelson de la Haye, Greffier of the States, retired from the Chamber during consideration of the appointment of the Minister for Transport and Technical Services and the meeting continued under the presidency of the Bailiff.

THE STATES rose at 6.02 p.m.

M.N. DE LA HAYE

Greffier of the States